Don’t forget to bring your towel.

In the Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy Arther Dent, amateur hitchhiker is taught the importance of knowing where your towel is.

The towel lets people know you still have part of your act together, it is a touchstone and a connection with home in your journey.

I am not suggesting you bring an actual towel along with you on your dates, but I do think it is worthwhile to pick a touchstone, a connection point with yourself to help you get your bearings in the complex social situations you are likely to encounter.

My personal “towel” is the idea that I have my beloved’s backs. When I am far from a place I know and I am not sure what I do, I remember my towel and that helps me get my bearings.

That is not the whole of my ethics, goodness no, but it is enough to help me look like I have my act together in strange places.

What is your towel?

This entry was posted in Advice.

Leave a Reply

